Road to . . . (copyright 2021, Northern Star Quilters’ Guild, Ltd.)

 

Shows and Exhibitions

 

*”

*”

*”Racism: In the Face of Hate, We Resist,” Textile Center, Minneapolis, MN. now through June 12, 2021; https://textilecentermn.org.

*”Art for the Community: The Met’s Circulating Textile Exhibitions, 1933-42,” Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City, now through June 13, 2021; https://.www.metmuseum.org.

*”Habitat,” Rogue Gallery & Art Center, Medford, OR, now through June 18, 2021; http://roguegallery.org.

*”Mustn’t Touch,” Shari Urquhart, Milwaukee, WI, now through June 30, 2021; http://portraitsocietygallery.com.

“Jill Kerttula: Urban Voyeur,” Visions Art Museum, San Diego, CA, now through July 3, 2021.

*”Observations: Walking in Wonder,” Glacial Park-Lost Valley Visitor Center, Ringwood, IL, now through July 4, 2021; http://facebook.com/events/glacial-park-lost-valley-visitor-center.

*”Art Quilt Elements,” Wayne Art Center, virtual, now through July 9, 2021; http://wayneart.org/exhibitions.

*”Subversive, Skilled, Sublime: Fiber Art by Women,” Smithsonian American Art Museum, Washington, D.C., now through August 28, 2021; https://americanart.si.edu.

*”Salley Mayor: Social Fabric,” Upcountry History Museum, Greenville, SC, now through September 4, 2021; http://upcountryhistory.org.

*International Quilt Museum, Limcoln, NE, http://internationalquiltmuseum.org:

”Abstract Design in American Quilts at 50: Journey to Japan,” now through August 7, 2021.

”Abstract Design in American Quilts at 50: New York,” now through August 7, 2021.

”Abstract Design in American Quilts at 50: Passing,” now through August 7, 2021.

”Abstract Design in American Quilts at 50,” now through September 4, 2021.

*”Floridian F;avors: Characters, Culture, and Cuisine,” Leepa-Ratner Museum of Art, Tarpon Springs, FL, now through August 25, 2021; http://leeparatner.org.

*The Ellsworth Antiques Show at Woodlawn” (includes quilts), Woodlawn Museum, Ellsworth, ME, August (dates tbd); http://woodlawnmuseum.org.

*”The Phillips Collects for a New Century,” (includes Gee’s Bend quilts),  Phillips Gallery, Washington, DC,  now through September 12, 2021.

*ASQG 2018 Quilt Study: Inspired by 200 Years of Solid-Color Quilts 1800-2000,” “Natural Wonders from the Frank Klein Collection,”, and “Sapphire Celebration,” Texas Quilt Museum La Grange, TX, now through September 18, 2021; https://texasquiltmuseum.com.

*”Quilt Art: Material Evidence,” Museum de Kantfabrik, Horst, Netherlands, now through September 26, 2021; http://museumdekantfabrik.nl.

*”Aloft,” various locations, now through November 20, 2021; https://www.saqa.com.

*”Midwest Views,” online, https://saqa.com/art/exhibitions/

*Alling Coverlet Museum, Palmyra, NY, continuing, 315-597-6757; https://www.historicpalmyrany.com.

 

 

Other Events

 

*”6 Quilts with 6 Know-It-Alls,” http://thequiltshow.com.

*”Going Medieval,” by Barrymore Lawrence Scherer, The Magazine Antiques, May/June 2021, pp. 66-75. The photograph of the ceiling of the Arab Room at Cardiff Castle (p. 71) could inspire 100 quilts.

*Cardiff Castle and the Marquesses of Bute, by Matthew Williams, Scala, 2019, $39.95.

*Quarantine Quilts: Creativity in the Midst of Chaos, to be published July 28, 2021.

*Toni Morrison Quilting Project, https://guides.library.cornell.edu.

*Virtual tour of “The Quilted Canvas III: Still Here,” https://www,neqm.org.

*”Impressions of Oceania From Around the World,” virtual; https://www.saqa.com.

*Jude Hill, https://spiritcloth.typepad.com.spirit_cloth/

*The British Galleries, Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City, continuing; https://.www.metmuseum.org.

*Peace Silk: https://www.selvedge.org/blogs/selvedge/the-future-of-silk-production.

*”Rough Draft,” by Nancy Hass. T: The New York Times Style Magazine, March 28, 2021. P. 48.

*The African Lookbook: A Visual History of 100 Years of African Women, Catherine E. McKinley, Bloomsbury, 2021.

*Dress Codes: How the Laws of Fashion Made History, Richard Thompson Ford, Simon & Schuster, 2021.

*Peacock and Vine: On William Morris and Mariano Fortuny, A. S. Byatt, Knopf, 2016.

*William Morris Textiles, Linda Parry, V&A Publishing, 2013.

*The Stones of Venice, John Ruskin, Da Capo Press, 1960.

 

Worldwide Web Sites

*Abby Glassenburg at http://whileshenaps.com

*Ana Buzzalino at http://anabuzzalino.com

*Anokhi at http://www.anokhi.com

*Barb Vedder at http://funwithbarb.com

*Beth Schillig at http://bethschillig.com

*Brenda Rhinehart at http://brendarhinehart@me.com

*Cathy Geier at http://cathygeier.com

*Charlotte Ziebarth at http://www.charlotteziebarth.com

*Cherrywood at https://cherrywood-hand-dyed-fabrics.myshopify.com

*The City Quilter at http://cityquilter.com

*Connie Kauffman at http://www.conniekauffman.com

*Cottonpatch Designs at http://www.cottonpatchdesigns.com

*Dani Ives at http://www.daniives.com

*Daphne Taylor at ht