Road to . . . (copyright 2022, Northern Star Quilters’ Guild, Ltd.)

 

Shows and Exhibitions

 

*”Domino Effect,” The Road to California, Ontario, CA, January 19-22, 2022;  http://roadtocalifornia.com.

*”Here Comes the Sun” (includes work by Sarah Nishiura), Iowa Quilt Museum, now through January 23, 2022; http://iowaquiltmuseum.org.

*”Sanford Biggers: Codeswitch,” California African American Museum, Los Angeles, CA, now through January 23, 2022; http://caamuseum.org.

*”Contemporary Quilts from the John M. Walsh III Collection,” Arnot Art Museum, now through January 29, 2022; http://arnotartmuseum.org.

*”I Sit and  Sew: Tracing Alice Dunbar-Nelson,” Delaware Art Museum, Wilmington, DE, now through February 6, 2022.

*”What the Bees See,” Virginia Quilt Museum, Harrisonburg, VA, now through February 9, 2022; http://vaquiltmuseum.org.

*”Art Quilts 2,” Sanchez Art Center, Pacifica, CA, now through February 13, 2022; http://saqa.org.

*”Susan Lenz: Behold the Wonder,” Good Shepherd Episcopal Church, Sumter, SC, now through February 13, 2022; http://saqa.com.

*”Last Words,” Sumter County Gallery of Art, Sumter, SC, now through February 18, 2022; http://sumtergallery.com.

*”Stitched,” Paula Cooper Gallery, New York City, now through February 19, 2022; http://paulacoopergallery.com.

*”Juxtapassion by John Lefthocz,” The National Quilt Museum, Paducah, KY, now through February 22, 2022; http://quilt museum.org.

*”Floridian Flavors,” Court House Cultural Center Galleries, now through February 26, 2022; http://saqa.com.

*“Art Against Racism: Manifesting Beloved Community,” West Windsor Art Center, Windsor, NJ, now through February 26, 2022; http://westwindsorarts.org.

*”Christian Dior: Designer of Dreams,” Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn, NY, now through February 2022.

*”The Roots and Refuge Series by Valerie White,” National Quilt Museum, Paducah, KY, now through March 1, 2022; http://quiltmuseum.org.

*”Weaving Splendor: Treasures of Asian Textiles,” Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City, MO, now through March 6, 2022.

*”Threads of Hope,” Thunder Bay Museum, Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada, now through March 27, 2022; http://fibreartnetwork.com.

*”American Portraits: The Family Farm,” Contemporary Craft BNY Mellon Satellite Gallery, Pittsburg, PA, now through April 4, 2022; http://contemporarycraft.org.

*Handcrafted Juried Art Show, The Maria V. Howard Arts Center at the Imperial Centre, Rocky Mount, NC, now through April 17, 2022; http://imperialcentre.org.

*”Musical,” Texas Quilt Museum, La Grange, TX, now through  May 1, 2022; http://texasquiltmuseum.org.

*”New London County Quilts and Bedcovers, 1750-1825,” Florence Griswold Museum, Old Lyme, CT, February 12-May 1, 2022.

*”Manufactured  Narratives: Chronicles of Textile Artists,” Urban Institute for Contemporary Arts, Grand Rapids, MI, now through May 7, 2022; http://uica.org.

*”Uncovered: The Ken Burns Collection.” Peoria Riverfront Museum, March 5-June 5, 2022.

*”Stitching California,” Maloof Foundation for Arts & Crafts, Alta Loma, CA, now through June 12, 2022; http://malooffoundation.org.

*”The Stories We Wear,” Penn Museum, Philadelphia, now through June 12, 2022; https://www.penn.museum.org.

*”Tenacity and Resilience: The Art of Jerry Pinkney,” Montclair Art Museum, Montclair, NJ, February 26-June 26, 2022.

*”Parallel Lines: New Textile Masterworks Inspired by Geometry,” Minneapolis Institute of Art, Minneapolis, MN, now through August 8, 2022.

*”In America: A Lexicon of Fashion,” Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City, now through September 5, 2022; http://metmuseum.org.

*”Structures,” SAQA virtual exhibition, http://saqa.com/art.

*Alling Coverlet Museum, Palmyra, NY, continuing, 315-597-675 https://www.historicpalmyrany.com.

 

 

Other Events

 

*Antiques, January/February 2022: ”Art of the American South in Toledo,” p. 46; quilt from the Gero collection, p. 155; “Women and the Art of the People,” by Eileen M. Smiles, pp. 194-201; “Renovated Gowns and Counterfeit Corsets,” by Elizabeth I. Block, pp. 210-217.

*Stitch Camp, Stitch Club, free online, January 17-21, 2022; register at http://textiletrainingartist.org/stitchcamp-signup-2/.

*She Stitched the Stars: A Story of Ellen Harding Baker’s Solar System Quilt (She Made History), by Jennifer Harris.

*”Meet Your Sweater,” by Vanessa Friedman, The New York Times. Sunday Styles, December 12, 2021, pp. 1, 18-19.

*”Social Justice Center For Fashion to Open,” Jessica Testa, The New York Times. Sunday Styles, December 12, 2021, p. 10.

*T: The New York Times Style Magazine, December 5, 2021: “All in Color,” by Gisela Williams, pp. 82, 84, 86; “The Tribute,” by Christopher Garis, pp. 114-121.

*The Fabric of Civilization: How Textiles Made the World, by Virginia Postrel, Basic Books.

*”Loom as Laboratory: Fiber Artist Kay Sekimachi and Her Wondrous Woven Experiments,” by Jeannine Falino, Antiques, November/December 2021, pp. 60-64.

*200+ kimonos, tripzilla.com/japan-created-over-200-kimono-for-olympics

*”Collection Highlights: Michael Cummings,” saqa.com/art/online-galleries/michael-cummings-collection-highlights

*Kaffe Fassett in the Studio, 2021.

*”Going Medieval,” by Barrymore Lawrence Scherer, The Magazine Antiques, May/June 2021, pp. 66-75. The photograph of the ceiling of the Arab Room at Cardiff Castle (p. 71) could inspire 100 quilts.

*Cardiff Castle and the Marquesses of Bute, by Matthew Williams, Scala, 2019, $39.95.

*”Breaking Barriers: Women’s Lives & Livelihoods,” The History Center in Tompkins County, now through February 26, 2022 (reserve your visit at http://www.thehistorycenter/schedule).

*Barack Obama Mini-Quilt Portrait Series, 30 postcards for $12.95, http://ctpub.com.

*The British Galleries, Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City, continuing; https://.www.metmuseum.org

*Peacock and Vine: On William Morris and Mariano Fortuny, A. S. Byatt, Knopf, 2016.

*William Morris Textiles, Linda Parry, V&A Publishing, 2013.

*The Stones of Venice, John Ruskin, Da Capo Press, 1960.

*Quilting: An Archive of Hand, Eye, and Soul, Publicbooks.org.

 

 

Worldwide Web Sites

 

*Abby Glassenburg at http://whileshenaps.com

*Ana Buzzalino at http://anabuzzalino.com

*Anokhi at http://www.anokhi.com

*Barb Vedder at http://funwithbarb.com

*Beth Schillig at http://bethschillig.com

*Bisa Butler at http://bisabutler.com

*Brenda Rhinehart at http://brendarhinehart@me.com

*Cathy Geier at http://cathygeier.com

*Charlotte Ziebarth at http://www.charlotteziebarth.com

*Cherrywood at https://cherrywood-hand-dyed-fabrics.myshopify.com

*The City Quilter at http://cityquilter.com

*Connie Kauffman at http://www.conniekauffman.com

*Cottonpatch Designs at http://www.cottonpatchdesigns.com

*Dani Ives at http://www.daniives.com

*Daphne Taylor at http://daphnetaylorquilts.com

*Deborah Boschert at http://deborahsstudio.com

*Deborah Fell at http://www.deborahfell.com

*Deborah Kemball at http://deborahkemball.com

*Denise Labadie at http://www.labadiefiberart.com

*Dyeing House Gallery at http://www.dyeinghousegallery.com

*Elena Stokes at http://elenastokes.com

*Elizabeth Busch at http://www.elizabethbusch.com

*Ellie Kreneck at http://www.kreneckstudios.com

*Emiko Toda Loeb at http://emikotloeb.com

*Emily Adams Bode at http://bodenewyork.com

*Fashion History Museum at http://fashionhistorymuseum.com

*FABSCRAP at http://fabscrap.org

*Gail Kessler at http://www.ladyfingerssewing.com

*Hilda Morin at http://www.HildaMorin.com

*Ibu Movement at https://ibumovement.com

*Jaftex at https://jaftex.com

*Jane Davila at http://janedavila.com

*Jane Haworth at http://janehaworth.com

*Jane LaFazio at http://janelafazio.com

*Jane Sassaman at http://www.janesassaman.com

*Jill Jensen at http://jilljensenart.com

*Jim Thompson at http://jimthompsonfabrics.com

*Jinny Beyer at http://www.jinnybeyer.com

*Julia McLeod at http://juliamcleodquilts,com

*Judie Rothermel at http://www.schoolhousefabrics.com

*Kaffe Fassett at http://kaffefassett.com

*Karen Eckmeier at http://www.quilted-lizard.com

*Katherine Knauer at http://katherineknauer.com

*Katie Pasquini Masopust at http://www.katiepm.com

*Kim Hanson at http://kimhansonquilts.com

*Liza Prior Lucy at http://www.gloriouscolor.com

*Lonni Rossi at http://lonnirossi.com

*Malaika Temba at http://malaikatemba.com

*Marilyn Henrion at http://marilynhenrion.com

*Marketplace: Handwork of India at http://MarketplaceIndia.com

*Martha Sielman at http://marthasielman.com

*Mickey Lawler at http://skydyes.com

*Paula Chung at http://www.paulachung.com

*Paula Nadelstern at https://paulanadelstern.com

*Peter Lappin at http://MalePatternBoldness.com

*Renee Pasquale at http://ReneePasquale.com

*Ruth B. McDowell at http://www.ruthbmcdowell.com

*Sarah Nishiura at http://sarahnishiura.com

*Spoonflower at https://www.spoonflower.com

*Sue Benner at http://www.suebenner.com

*Sue Ellen Romanowski at facebook.com/RomanowskiFiberArt

*Susan Ball Faeder at https://www.qejapan.com

*Tamara Leberer at http://tamaraleberer.com

*Tender Buttons at http://tenderbuttons-nyc.com

*Textile Museum, Washington, D.C. at http://textilemuseum.org

*The Patchwork Co. at http://www.thepatchworkco.com

*Zook’s Fabric Store at https://www.saudersfabric.com