Please review this page carefully.
Any questions, contact

Quilts not meeting all requirements below are subject to rejection.
NSQG reserves the right to reject any quilt or to reassign categories as necessary.

Prior to registering your quilt(s), gather the following information.
If submitting more than one quilt, register in order of priority.

Is your quilt Traditional?  Traditional design quilts are constructed of blocks using traditional patterns and grids. For example, a “One Block Wonder” quilt is considered ‘traditional’, even though it results in an abstract geometric design, because it is pieced in rows of triangles which form hexagons.

Is your quilt Contemporary?  Contemporary design quilts include the use of bold colors and prints, high contrast, graphic areas of solid color, improvisational piecing, minimalism, expansive negative space, alternate grid work, and the ‘modernization’ of classic quilt designs.

Is your quilt ‘Single Maker’ or ‘Group’?  If only one person made the quilt top but paid to have it quilted, it is still considered as a ‘single maker’ rather than a ‘group’ quilt and the registration form should include that information (Quilted by Other).  If two or more people were involved in the making of the quilt (even if some of them might be unknown) and not counting any paid quilter, then it is considered a ‘group’ quilt and the registration form should reflect that information.

Judged Special Awards

Best in Show (Large and Small)*
Best Machine Quilting*
Best Hand Quilting*
Best Modern Quilt*
Best Improvisational Quilt*
Best Modern Traditional Quilt*
Best Hand Applique
Best Machine Applique
Best Original Design
Best Use of Color
Best Hand Embellishing
Best Recycling of Materials

Ribbons (1st, 2nd, 3rd, HM) may be awarded in each of the registration categories, there are also Judges’ Choice and Viewers’ Choice Awards.

* To be eligible in these categories, the quilt must be entirely constructed, including quilting, by one person.

Share This Page